File spoon-archives/foucault.archive/foucault_2001/foucault.0108, message 11


Subject: Savoir
Date: Mon, 06 Aug 2001 02:05:19 


This is a multi-part message in MIME format.


Am I correct is saying that Foucault's term savoir:

concerns itself with the discovery and symbolising of discursive formations

??

or from reading Governmentality (p.20), does it mean something a bit 
different?

Is savoir a noun? or a verb? or both?

In some ways I could perceive it to be the representation of discursive 
formation - a sort of accepted procedure, or a ritual for doing things 
within due course ... along the path and between the defined limits or 
pickettes of acceptable behaviour.

Lionel

_________________________________________________________________
Get your FREE download of MSN Explorer at http://explorer.msn.com/intl.asp


>From owner-foucault-AT-lists.village.virginia.edu Fri, 03 Aug 2001 03:35:57 -0700
Received: from [128.143.2.9] by hotmail.com (3.2) with ESMTP id MHotMailBD33C9210061400431CB808F02099CE70; Fri, 03 Aug 2001 03:34:10 -0700
Received: from lists.village.virginia.edu by mail.virginia.edu id aa10582;
          3 Aug 2001 6:34 EDT
Received: (from domo-AT-localhost)
	by lists.village.Virginia.EDU (8.9.3/8.9.0) id GAA06998
	for foucault-outgoing; Fri, 3 Aug 2001 06:32:47 -0400 (EDT)
X-Authentication-Warning: lists.village.Virginia.EDU: domo set sender to owner-foucault-AT-localhost using -f
Received: from hotmail.com (f54.law3.hotmail.com [209.185.241.54])
	by lists.village.Virginia.EDU (8.9.3/8.9.0) with ESMTP id GAA06994
	for <foucault-AT-lists.village.virginia.edu>; Fri, 3 Aug 2001 06:32:43 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from mail pickup service by hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC;
	 Fri, 3 Aug 2001 03:32:11 -0700
Received: from 195.219.73.12 by lw3fd.law3.hotmail.msn.com with HTTP;	Fri, 03 Aug 2001 10:32:11 GMT
X-Originating-IP: [195.219.73.12]
From: Ali Rizvi <ali_m_rizvi-AT-hotmail.com>
To: foucault-AT-lists.village.virginia.edu
Subject: Re: unconscious of knowledge
Date: Fri, 03 Aug 2001 10:32:11

HTML VERSION:

Message-ID: X-OriginalArrivalTime: 03 Aug 2001 10:32:11.0983 (UTC) FILETIME=[8E3D85F0:01C11C07] Sender: owner-foucault-AT-lists.village.virginia.edu Precedence: bulk Reply-To: foucault-AT-lists.village.virginia.edu

Driftline Main Page

 

Display software: ArchTracker © Malgosia Askanas, 2000-2005